John Root's Bitters bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

reapwood

Reaction score
I found this bottle and I am wondering if it is worth anything. Anyone want it. Make an offer. John Root's Bitters 1834 Buffalo, N.Y. are embossed in the glass and it's 10 1/4 inches tall and about 3 inches wide. Any info would be appreciated. Thank you.

Vt56750.jpg

Attachments

• Vt56750.jpg
    Vt56750.jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 99

maineahh62

Reaction score
hello reapwood, i am not an expert on bitters but i am sure there are some member's who are, here is a site i found with the help of google, and some of what it had posted.

1834 JOHN ROOT'S BITTERS

Blue-green 1834 JOHN ROOT'S BITTERS / 1834 BUFFALO, N.Y. sold on eBay by simonsays for $2,000.

Xv65667.jpg

Attachments

• Xv65667.jpg
    Xv65667.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 104

deepwoods

Reaction score
Reap-Your speciman appears to be aqua,which,according to my sources is even rarer than the blue-green-dont sell it too fast.

BRIAN S.

Reaction score
Hello Reapwood !
Nice Bitters you have there !
It looks like it is an Aqua coloration from your pic.....And your mold variant has the Buffalo , N.Y. embossed on one side panel which makes your bottle the Ring & Ham's R 90.4
JOHN ROOT'S BITTERS // sp // BUFFALO , N.Y. // u // f // 1834 // f // 1834
Deepwoods is not correct on the rarity of the Aqua coloration in this mold. Coloration in this mold are listed as Blue-green , Green , Aqua , Clear -Very Scarce . Amber and Amethyst - Rare.
I believe the mold variant that deepwoods was confused with is the Ring & Ham's R 90 which is embossed with JOHN ROOT'S BITTERS on both side panels.And it does not have Buffalo , N.Y. on one of the side panels. The R 90 JOHN ROOT'S / BITTERS // sp // JOHN ROOT'S BITTERS // sp / is only listed in Aqua and this mold variant is listed as Extremely rare.